Women's Rowing Set for Kittel Cup Showdown with Syracuse

Women's Rowing Set for Kittel Cup Showdown with Syracuse

March 29, 2013

Watch (Taped Delay)

BOSTON - As part of a full day of racing and events at the DeWolfe Boathouse, Boston University women's rowing team will look to retain the Kittel Cup when they host Syracuse this Saturday. The Terriers have captured the Cup four of the last five years including last season at Syracuse by 1.6 seconds.

In addition to the Kittel Cup, Saturday's schedule of races includes the Spring debut of the BU women’s lightweight rowing team who will compete in the Lightweight Beanpot. The day's races begin with the lightweight varsity eight taking on Harvard and MIT at 9 a.m. followed by the openweights vs. Syracuse.

At the conclusion of the day’s races, the lightweight team’s 2 new Resolute Racing shells will be dedicated in honor of longtime Terrier supporter Elliot Driben and Boston University's 1974 National Champion lightweight crew. The ceremony is scheduled to begin at approximately 11 a.m.

“Elliot is such an inspiration to all of us,” said women’s rowing head coach Stacey Rippetoe.  “His dedication to BU athletics is amazing. It will truly be an honor to have his name on one of our boats. Honoring  the 1974 National Championship team with their boat dedication will make this day even more special ”

After the competition, BU will continue their Spring season at Buffalo on April 6.


09:00am – Varsity Lightweight Eight (Lightweight Beanpot)
09:10am - Varsity Eight (Kittel Cup race)
09:30am - 2nd Varsity Eight  
09:50am – Varsity Four
10:10am - 3rd Varsity Eight
11:00am (approximate) Boat dedication-DeWolfe Boathouse


Varsity Lightweight Eight  Cox – Katie Scott, Stroke – Callie Bouzane, 7 – Boone Saunders, 6 – Carol Chase Peterson, 5 – Brynn Murphy, 4 – Ashley Davidson, 3 – Cynthia Herrera, 2 – Molly Constantine, Bow – Jessica He

Varsity Eight Cox – Sarah Specht, Stroke – Caroline Kimberly, 7 – Gabby Cutler, 6 – Lynn Ratte, 5 – Kerry Kennedy, 4 – Alex Gustafson, 3 – Kelly Jackson,, 2 – Mackenzie Wiler, Bow – Caitlin Trillo

Second Varsity Eight Cox – Eline Vermeulen, Stroke – Liv Wihtol, 7 – Cailey Palmer-Rehorst, 6 – Jo MacCune,, 5 – Yahna Harris, 4 – Emma Ransom, 3 – Westanna Carleton, 2 – Katrina Lyter, Bow – Marisa Borchardt

Varsity Four  Cox – Rachel Cohn, Stroke – Beata Coloyan, 3 – Amelia Ralston, 2 – Caroline Demko, 1 – Dominique Baker

 Third Varsity Eight Cox – Laura Meek, Stroke – Lauren Moulton, 7 – Bridget Behmke, 6 – Arielle Sebestyen, 5 – Killian Ballard, 4 – Danielle Kurkjian, 3 – Leslie Flores,, 2 – Savannah Keller,  Bow – Mary Gianotti

Print Friendly Version