Danielle Etrasco Nominated for Tewaaraton Trophy

Danielle Etrasco Nominated for Tewaaraton Trophy

April 26, 2013

Tewaaraton Foundation Official Release | Terriers Travel to Cornell on Saturday

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senior attack Danielle Etrasco of the Boston University women’s lacrosse team has been selected as a nominee for the Tewaaraton Trophy recognizing the top collegiate lacrosse player in the nation, as announced by the Tewaaraton Award Foundation on Friday evening.

Etrasco is one of 25 female nominees for the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award, which will be given to one male and one female. Five female finalists will be announced on May 9 and the award winner will be selected and honored on May 30, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Etrasco ranks second in Division I with 3.69 goals per game and leads BU with 54 goals, 17 assists and 71 points. She ranks third in the America East with 5.07 points per game and is also tied for the third in the league with three-game winning goals this season. The senior has also demonstrated her defensive talents by causing 1.46 turnovers per game, which is 33rd in the nation.

The Massapequa, N.Y., native has recorded at least 50 goals for the third consecutive season and needs just four more goals to match her career-high of 58 tallies, which she achieved in 2012. She has notched at least one point in every game this season and recorded the second-highest point total in Division I earlier this season when she recorded 12 points (8g, 4a) against then-No. 15 Ohio State on March 18.

Etrasco has already made her mark throughout the BU record books, as her240 career points are tied for third in program history while her 187 career goals are also tied for third. She also ranks third in school history with 152 career draw controls

Earlier this year, Etrasco became the first played in BU women’s lacrosse history to make the final U.S. Women’s National Team roster that will compete for the 2013 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup in July. She is one of two current college players to make the team.

Etrasco is BU’s first nominee for the Tewaaraton Trophy since Sarah Dalton was one of the 25 nominees in 2009.

Print Friendly Version