Men's Basketball Holds Annual Team Banquet

Men's Basketball Holds Annual Team Banquet

Photo Gallery

Coming off its fourth postseason berth in five years, the 2014 Patriot League regular season champion Boston University men's basketball team recently held its annual year-end banquet at BU's School of Management. Head coach Joe Jones and his staff handed out several team honors, including the program's Most Improved Player, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player award.

Vice President of Business Development for ProCare Prosthetics & Orthotics and former men's basketball captain Steve Ehretsman ('96) served as the keynote speaker with fellow BU alum and current radio announcer Doug Brown ('78) serving as master of ceremonies. BU Senior Vice President and General Counsel Todd Klipp was also in attendance to open the event with welcome remarks.

Finishing his collegiate career ranked ninth all-time in points (1,439) and fifth in assists (470), senior D.J. Irving (12.4 ppg, 3.4 rpg, 2.4 apg) received the Lou Cohen MVP Award along with senior Dom Morris (11.2 ppg, 6.1 rpg), who sits in sixth in rebounds (741) and 17th in points (1,139).

Irving recorded at least 20 points in six games, highlighted by a game-high 25-point performance in the thrilling 83-77 win at ACC power Maryland. Morris posted a career-high 27 points with 10 rebounds against UMass Lowell and tallied at least both 10 points and eight rebounds in 11 games.

Sophomore John Papale (9.1 ppg, 41.4 3FG%) was the recipient of the Reggie Stewart Award for best exemplifying the traits of BU basketball, while fellow classmate Justin Alston (2.4 ppg, 1.8 rpg) earned the Arturo Brown Most Improved Player honor.

Two key freshman players also received hardware. Cedric Hankerson (6.0 ppg, 2.0 rpg) was named the John Holland Rookie of the Year honoree, while Dylan Haines earned the Richard Taylor Academic Award.

The Terriers finished their first season in the Patriot League with a 24-11 record and bid to the National Invitation Tournament. BU claimed its sixth NIT bid by virtue of capturing its first conference regular season title since 2004 and is returning eight men for next season.

They will be joined by two freshmen, Cheddi Mosely and Nick Havener, and now-eligible transfers, Eric Fanning and Blaise Mbargorba.

Print Friendly Version