Eichel Selected Second Overall by Buffalo at 2015 NHL Draft

Eichel Selected Second Overall by Buffalo at 2015 NHL Draft

June 26, 2015

Quite a night for Jack... Buffalo knows they drafted a star! #ProudtoBU

A video posted by BU Hockey (@terrierhockey) on

SUNRISE, Fla. - Jack Eichel of the Boston University men's ice hockey team was selected with the second overall pick by the Buffalo Sabres at the 2015 National Hockey League Entry Draft on Friday evening at the BB&T Center.

The nation's top college hockey player did not wait long to hear his name called, becoming the 11th Terrier to earn the label of NHL first-round pick in the process.

Eichel joins New Hampshire's James van Riemsdyk (Philadelphia -- 2007), Wisconsin's Dany Heatley (Atlanta - 2000) and Michigan State's Craig Simpson (Pittsburgh - 1985) as the only collegians to be taken second overall. Three college standouts, including BU's Rick DiPietro, have been taken first overall. This is the seventh time that Buffalo has selected a Boston University player.

As a freshman this past season, Eichel led the nation in points (71) and assists (45) and helped the Terriers reach the NCAA title game after claiming the Hockey East regular-season and tournament titles. For his efforts, he was named the winner of the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, becoming the third BU player to earn college hockey's top individual honor.

Eichel also took home both Hockey East Player and Rookie of the Year honors, a feat accomplished by just two other freshmen in the league's 31-year history. He was tabbed the MVP of the Hockey East tournament and was also named to the NCAA Frozen Four All-Tournament Team.

Boston University -- NHL First-Round Picks
Name                   Year    Team   Overall
Rick DiPietro          2000    NYI    1
Jack Eichel            2015    BUF    2
Scott Lachance         1991    NYI    4
Ryan Whitney           2002    PIT    5
Colin Wilson           2008    NSH    7
Scott Young            1986    HFD    11
David Quinn            1984    MIN    13
Kevin Shattenkirk      2007    COA    14
Keith Tkachuk          1990    WIN    19
Jeff Kealty            1994    QUE    22
Charlie Coyle          2010    SJS    28

Print Friendly Version