Davis, Hyoty Named to PL Women's Tennis 25th Anniversary Team

Davis, Hyoty Named to PL Women's Tennis 25th Anniversary Team

Aug. 20, 2015

Patriot League 25th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team

After helping guide Boston University to a pair of conference titles, seniors Lauren Davis and Johanna Hyoty were both named to the Patriot League 25th Anniversary Women's Tennis Team, the conference announced Thursday morning.

Though the Terriers have only been in the league for two years, the program led by 31st-year head coach Lesley Sheehan has already made an impressive impact. First, BU defeated nine-time defending conference champion Army for the program's first PL title in 2014 and then followed up in 2015 by sweeping three opponents in one weekend at a conference tournament for the first time since 2001.

Recipient of the 2015 ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sportsmanship & Leadership Award for the northeast region, Hyoty is a two-time Patriot League Player of the Year and the reigning PL Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The Tampere, Finland native has compiled a 37-21 overall singles record since joining the conference, highlighted by a three-set win over Boston College's then-No. 61 ranked Jessica Wacnik, which helped Hyoty earn her first-ever national ranking (#122) for two weeks. In 2015, she also received the conference's first Doubles Team of the Year Award with Barbara Rodriguez after they claimed a perfect 6-0 record against conference opponents.

Davis (Mitchellville, Md.) has joined Hyoty in putting on a dominating performance in the conference the past two seasons, helping the Terriers claim back-to-back NCAA bids. During the 2015 PL tournament, she won a combined 36 of 41 games (.878) during three singles matches at the No. 2 slot to earn her third straight All-Conference First Team accolade with her 2013 honor coming from the America East. In the last two years, she has posted a 33-22 singles record, while contributing a total of 16 doubles wins during the dual seasons.

The Patriot League is releasing 25th Anniversary Teams throughout the month of August for each sport that has been sponsored by the League since it became an all-sport conference beginning in the 1990-91 season. In addition to the 25th Anniversary Teams, coverage throughout the 2015-16 season will focus on former student-athletes and top stories in the history of the Patriot League.

Ten of the 11 recipients of the Patriot League Player of the Year award (began in 2002) made the Anniversary Team for women's tennis, with Hyoty and Army West Point’s Annie Houghton each earning the award multiple times. Eleven members of the Anniversary Team won the John “Pat” Rooney Award as the Patriot League Tournament MVP award, while three were named to the Patriot League All-Decade Team based on competition from 1990-2000. The Anniversary Team members have combined to earn 72 All-Patriot League honors (first awarded in 1993), while 17 Patriot League team champions had at least one member of the Anniversary squad on the roster.

Print Friendly Version