Somerby Named 2016-17 Captain at Team Banquet

Somerby Named 2016-17 Captain at Team Banquet

BOSTON - The Boston University men's ice hockey program honored its 2015-16 team at its annual banquet on Sunday at the Francis D. Burke Club Room at Agganis Arena.

Senior Danny O'Regan received the George V. Brown Most Valuable Player Award before junior Doyle Somerby was introduced as captain of the 2016-17 team. Sophomore Nikolas Olsson and freshman Jakob Forsbacka Karlsson were named assistant captains for next year's squad.

O'Regan and classmates Matt Lane and Mike Moran each took home a pair of awards. The Ed Carpenter Award went to O'Regan for being this year's top point-scorer on the team. Lane received the Most Improved Player Award and the Iron Terrier Award. Moran collected the Bennett McInnis Award for Spirit and the Friends-Albert Sidd Unsung Hero Award.

Somerby received the Clifford P. Fitzgerald Scholarship, given annually to the top rising junior or senior defenseman. Sophomore Connor LaCouvee was selected as the winner of this year's Regina Eilberg Scholarship, given to the team's top scholar-athlete.

Print Friendly Version